Contents18
- Screen size vs. paper size at actual size
- 11-inch or 13-inch: room vs. weight
- Apple Pencil pressure and hover
- What the drawing apps need
- Current models compared (screen, weight, memory, battery, color)
- Picks by condition
- Pressure with Apple Pencil Pro, smallest screen that holds A5 at actual size
- Pressure with Apple Pencil Pro, smallest and lightest screen, A6 at actual size
- No pressure sensing needed, A5 at actual size
- 13-inch screen with room around A5, A4 scaled to 88%
- ProMotion, iPad Pro only
- FAQ
- Which iPad is best for drawing and illustration?
- Can you draw A4 at actual size on an iPad?
- Can you draw with the Apple Pencil (USB-C)?
- Is the base iPad (A16 chip) good enough for illustration?
- Which iPads run Procreate?
- Which iPads run CLIP STUDIO PAINT?
Among current iPads, to draw A5 at actual size with Apple Pencil Pro (the pressure-sensing pen), you need an 11-inch-class screen or larger; at that size it’s borderline. On 13-inch-class models, both the screen’s long and short sides exceed A5’s by at least 48.5 mm, counting the room on both edges together.
If A6 is enough and portability comes first, the 8.3 in model, though that screen is below CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s recommended 10.5 inches.
No current iPad shows a whole A4 page (210 × 297 mm) at actual size. Worked out from Apple’s diagonal and resolution, even the largest 13-inch screen is only about 264.1 × 198.1 mm.
Screen size vs. paper size at actual size
A5 (148 × 210 mm) is shown whole at actual size on every model except the iPad mini. On the 11-inch iPad Air and iPad Pro and the base iPad (A16 chip), though, the short side has about 12 mm or less to spare, so it’s borderline.
Assumptions: the whole screen is compared with the paper’s long and short sides, before app toolbars are subtracted. Fits means shown whole at actual size. Turning the iPad to portrait gives the same result.
| Model | Screen size | A6 | A5 | A4 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 13-inch iPad Pro | about 264.1 × 198.1 mm | ✓ Fits at actual size | ✓ Fits at actual size | Fits scaled to 88% |
| 13-inch iPad Air | about 262.1 × 196.5 mm | ✓ Fits at actual size | ✓ Fits at actual size | Fits scaled to 88% |
| 11-inch iPad Pro | about 232.1 × 160.0 mm | ✓ Fits at actual size | △ Fits at actual size (borderline) | Fits scaled to 76% |
| 11-inch iPad Air | about 226.5 × 157.4 mm | ✓ Fits at actual size | △ Fits at actual size (borderline) | Fits scaled to 74% |
| Base iPad (A16 chip) | about 226.5 × 157.4 mm | ✓ Fits at actual size | △ Fits at actual size (borderline) | Fits scaled to 74% |
| iPad mini | about 176.2 × 115.7 mm | ✓ Fits at actual size | Fits scaled to 78% | Fits scaled to 55% |
“Borderline” means the spare room is under 10% of the paper’s side.
Apple doesn’t publish the screens’ width and height, so they’re calculated from the diagonal and resolution. Using Apple’s official ppi instead changes the result by less than 0.7 mm and doesn’t change whether a page fits at actual size.
A4 has to be scaled down to fit whole. The largest scale is 88% on the 13-inch iPad Air and iPad Pro, and 55% on the iPad mini. At the largest scale in 1% steps, the tighter side of every model has at most 2.8 mm to spare, so it’s borderline.
The iPad mini holds a whole page at actual size only up to A6 (105 × 148 mm). A5 fits when scaled to 78%, with only 0.2 mm to spare, so it’s borderline.
Which iPad fits the paper size you draw at
Pick the paper size you draw at, whether you need pressure or hover, and your app to see the smallest current iPad that holds a whole page at actual size. If none does, it shows the scale that fits, plus one iPad you can buy that fits.
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
For these settings
11-inch or 13-inch: room vs. weight
For A5, pick the 13-inch if you want more room, or the 11-inch if weight matters more. Per Apple’s spec pages, the 13-inch models are heavier than the 11-inch ones, by 152 g for the iPad Air and 135 g for the iPad Pro (Wi-Fi models).
Apple Pencil pressure and hover
In Apple’s compatibility page and comparison table, Apple Pencil Pro works with the iPad Pro, iPad Air and iPad mini. It doesn’t work with the base iPad (A16 chip).
Only Apple Pencil Pro is listed with pressure sensing; Apple Pencil (USB-C) doesn’t have it, but it does sense tilt.
The base iPad (A16 chip) works with the USB-C Apple Pencil. It can also use the 1st-generation Apple Pencil with an adapter. Neither is listed with pressure, so the base iPad has no pressure-sensing pen here.
Hover, which shows where the pen tip is before it touches the screen, works on the iPad Pro, iPad Air and iPad mini. The base iPad (A16 chip) isn’t on the list.
What the drawing apps need
Per Procreate’s Help Center, the current version, 5.4.14, needs iPadOS 16.3 or later and has no list of models. Every current iPad runs iPadOS 27, so all of them qualify.
Per CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s requirements and device pages, the list names Apple Pencil Pro and the 1st and 2nd generations for pressure, not the USB-C one. Current iPads can use Pro, and the base iPad (A16 chip) can use the 1st generation with an adapter. No current iPad takes the 2nd generation.
The current model on the list for high-resolution illustration and manga is the iPad Pro. The base iPad (A16 chip) and iPad mini are on the list for standard-size illustration.
The iPad Air (M4) is not on the supported-device page. The page doesn’t say it won’t run; it just isn’t listed.
The supported OS versions are iPadOS 18 and iPadOS 26; iPadOS 27 isn’t mentioned.
Current models compared (screen, weight, memory, battery, color)
| Model | Screen diagonal | Weight | Memory | Battery (Apple’s tests) | ProMotion | Color and lamination |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 13-inch iPad Pro | 13 in | 579 g | 12 GB for 256GB and 512GB models, 16 GB for 1TB and 2TB models (unified memory) | up to 10 hours | Yes (10-120 Hz) | P3, fully laminated |
| 13-inch iPad Air | 12.9 in | 616 g | 12 GB (unified memory) | up to 10 hours | Not listed | P3, fully laminated |
| 11-inch iPad Pro | 11.1 in | 444 g | 12 GB for 256GB and 512GB models, 16 GB for 1TB and 2TB models (unified memory) | up to 10 hours | Yes (10-120 Hz) | P3, fully laminated |
| 11-inch iPad Air | 10.86 in | 464 g | 12 GB (unified memory) | up to 10 hours | Not listed | P3, fully laminated |
| Base iPad (A16 chip) | 10.86 in | 477 g | Not listed by Apple | up to 10 hours | Not listed | P3 and full lamination not listed (comparison page says sRGB) |
| iPad mini | 8.3 in | 293 g | Not listed by Apple | up to 10 hours | Not listed | P3, fully laminated |
Weights are Wi-Fi models. Battery isn’t drawing time.
Per Apple’s spec pages, memory is listed at 12 GB or 16 GB for the iPad Pro and 12 GB for the iPad Air. Both meet CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s high-resolution recommendation of 6 GB or more. The base iPad (A16 chip) and iPad mini list none, so that can’t be confirmed.
ProMotion is a display that adjusts its refresh rate to what’s on screen. Its range, 10Hz to 120Hz, is listed only for the iPad Pro. The iPad Air, the base iPad (A16 chip) and iPad mini specs give neither ProMotion nor a refresh-rate figure.
Wide color (P3) is a range wider than sRGB, and full lamination means no air gap between glass and display. Both are listed for the iPad Pro, Air and mini. The base iPad (A16 chip) lists neither.
Picks by condition
One pick per condition, from Amazon.com, if a listing meets the criteria. If several qualify, the pick is the cheapest of those checked.
- Sold new by Amazon.com
- Configuration matches Apple’s spec
- At least 100 ratings and 4 stars or more
Check prices on the retailer’s page.
In the checks here, on Amazon.com, every pick but the ProMotion one is 128 GB, the cheapest qualifying tier, not a judgment that it’s enough. The ProMotion pick is 256 GB. CLIP STUDIO PAINT needs 6 GB of free space; no official storage guide for a given use was found.
Pressure with Apple Pencil Pro, smallest screen that holds A5 at actual size
The A5 margin is under 10% of the paper’s side, so it’s borderline.
Color variants are listed; price may vary by color. The rating count is shared with other models on the same listing.
Pressure with Apple Pencil Pro, smallest and lightest screen, A6 at actual size
In this calculation, A6 fits at actual size and A5 only scaled to 78%, borderline.
The rating count is shared with other models on the same listing.
No pressure sensing needed, A5 at actual size
A5 fits at actual size with about 12 mm or less to spare on the short side, so it’s borderline.
The rating count is shared with other models on the same listing.
13-inch screen with room around A5, A4 scaled to 88%
In this calculation, A4 fits only scaled to 88%, borderline.
The rating count is shared with other models on the same listing.
ProMotion, iPad Pro only
How ProMotion feels to draw on isn’t judged.
The rating count is shared with other models on the same listing.
FAQ
Which iPad is best for drawing and illustration?
Among current iPads, to draw A5 at actual size with Apple Pencil Pro (the pressure-sensing pen), you need an 11-inch-class screen or larger; at that size it’s borderline. If A6 is enough and portability comes first, the 8.3 in model, though that screen is below CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s recommended 10.5 inches.
Models that fit are in the picks section.
Can you draw A4 at actual size on an iPad?
No current iPad shows a whole A4 page (210 × 297 mm) at actual size. Worked out from Apple’s diagonal and resolution, even the largest 13-inch screen is only about 264.1 × 198.1 mm.
Can you draw with the Apple Pencil (USB-C)?
Yes. In Apple’s compatibility page and comparison table, only Apple Pencil Pro is listed with pressure sensing; Apple Pencil (USB-C) doesn’t have it, but it does sense tilt.
Is the base iPad (A16 chip) good enough for illustration?
Yes, it can draw. In Apple’s compatibility page and comparison table, the A16-chip model works with the USB-C Apple Pencil.
It can also use the 1st-generation Apple Pencil with an adapter. Neither is listed with pressure, so that model has no pressure-sensing pen here.
Which iPads run Procreate?
Per Procreate’s Help Center, the current version, 5.4.14, needs iPadOS 16.3 or later and has no list of models. Every current iPad runs iPadOS 27, so all of them qualify.
Which iPads run CLIP STUDIO PAINT?
Per CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s requirements and device pages, the current models on the list for high-resolution illustration and manga have the M5 chip. The A16 and A17 Pro models are on the list for standard-size illustration.
The current M4 models are not on the supported-device page. The page doesn’t say they won’t run; they just aren’t listed.
The supported OS versions are iPadOS 18 and iPadOS 26; iPadOS 27 isn’t mentioned. The recommended display size is 10.5 inches or larger, and the 8.3 in model is smaller than that.
Data and formulas used (for verification)
How this was checked: In the checks here, only screen size, the type of Apple Pencil and the apps’ official requirements are used. Drawing feel and speed weren’t tested on real hardware and aren’t judged. Sources as of October 2026: Apple’s Compare iPad, iPad Pro specs and Apple Pencil compatibility.
Sources: CLIP STUDIO PAINT system requirements, supported-device FAQ, Procreate FAQ and the ISO 216 table
Method
- Current lineup: the six models in ‘Current iPad models’ on Apple’s compare page: 13- and 11-inch iPad Pro (M5), 13- and 11-inch iPad Air (M4), iPad (A16) and iPad mini (A17 Pro). Older models are not covered.
- Specs: Apple’s spec page for each model (Japan and US) and the compare page. Memory is quoted only where Apple states it (iPad Pro and iPad Air); otherwise ‘not stated’ and no figure is guessed.
- Battery life is Apple’s test figure on pre-production units, not drawing time.
- Apple Pencil support: Apple’s ‘Apple Pencil compatibility’ page (published 2026-03-31) and the Apple Pencil page. The page states pressure sensing is on Apple Pencil Pro but not Apple Pencil (USB-C).
- App requirements: Procreate 5.4.14 (current per its Help Center) needs iPadOS 16.3 or later; CLIP STUDIO PAINT for iPad per its official requirements (iPadOS 18 / 26, 3GB required, 4GB recommended, 6GB for high-resolution work) and its supported-device FAQ.
- Products: new Wi-Fi models with standard glass on Amazon.co.jp and Amazon.com. A candidate needs 100+ ratings, 4.0+ stars, Amazon as seller, a configuration matching Apple’s spec, and (Japan) no strong sakura warning.
- Drawing area = screen size. Apple does not publish the screen’s width and height, so they are calculated from the official diagonal (measured as a rectangle) and the pixel resolution: width = diagonal x 25.4 x horizontal px / sqrt(horizontal px^2 + vertical px^2), height = diagonal x 25.4 x vertical px / sqrt(horizontal px^2 + vertical px^2). Cross-checked against the official ppi (264, 326) as px / ppi x 25.4: the difference is under 1 mm, whether a page fits at actual size is the same either way, and the scale from the diagonal is equal to or 1% below the ppi-based one (the safe side). Apple notes the corners are rounded and the actual viewable area is smaller. Space taken by a drawing app’s on-screen controls is not subtracted.
- Paper is ISO 216 A-series (A6 to A3), with the same sizes and fit rule as the pen-display guide (paper long side vs screen long side, short vs short; portrait gives the same result). For paper that doesn’t fit at actual size, the scale that fits the whole page = min(screen long / paper long, screen short / paper short), rounded down to 1%. Room to spare (screen minus paper) under 10% of the paper side is called borderline.
- ProMotion (10Hz to 120Hz) is listed only for iPad Pro, as on Apple’s spec pages. Drawing feel and speed weren’t tested on real hardware and aren’t judged. Prices are not given.
Official values used
| Item | Value | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): screen diagonal (measured as a rectangle) | 13 inch | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): resolution (long side) | 2752 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): resolution (short side) | 2064 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): pixel density | 264 ppi | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): weight (Wi-Fi model) | 579 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): weight (Wi-Fi + Cellular model) | 582 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): body height | 281.6 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): body width | 215.5 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): body thickness | 5.1 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): chip | M5 | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): storage options | 256GB, 512GB, 1TB, 2TB | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): memory | 12GB on 256GB/512GB models, 16GB on 1TB/2TB models (unified memory) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): port | Thunderbolt / USB 4 port (USB-C connector). USB 4 (up to 40Gb/s) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): battery capacity | 38.99 Wh | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): battery life (Apple test figure, web browsing and video over Wi-Fi) | up to 10 hours | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): refresh rate | ProMotion technology with an adaptive refresh rate of 10Hz to 120Hz | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): display type, lamination and color gamut | Ultra Retina XDR (tandem OLED). Fully laminated. Wide color (P3) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): Nano-texture glass | Nano-texture display glass is an option on 1TB and 2TB models | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): supported Apple Pencil | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C) | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Pro (M5): Apple Pencil hover | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): screen diagonal (measured as a rectangle) | 11.1 inch | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): resolution (long side) | 2420 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): resolution (short side) | 1668 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): pixel density | 264 ppi | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): weight (Wi-Fi model) | 444 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): weight (Wi-Fi + Cellular model) | 446 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): body height | 249.7 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): body width | 177.5 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): body thickness | 5.3 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): chip | M5 | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): storage options | 256GB, 512GB, 1TB, 2TB | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): memory | 12GB on 256GB/512GB models, 16GB on 1TB/2TB models (unified memory) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): port | Thunderbolt / USB 4 port (USB-C connector). USB 4 (up to 40Gb/s) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): battery capacity | 31.29 Wh | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): battery life (Apple test figure, web browsing and video over Wi-Fi) | up to 10 hours | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): refresh rate | ProMotion technology with an adaptive refresh rate of 10Hz to 120Hz | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): display type, lamination and color gamut | Ultra Retina XDR (tandem OLED). Fully laminated. Wide color (P3) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): Nano-texture glass | Nano-texture display glass is an option on 1TB and 2TB models | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): supported Apple Pencil | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C) | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Pro (M5): Apple Pencil hover | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): screen diagonal (measured as a rectangle) | 12.9 inch | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): resolution (long side) | 2732 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): resolution (short side) | 2048 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): pixel density | 264 ppi | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): weight (Wi-Fi model) | 616 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): weight (Wi-Fi + Cellular model) | 617 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): body height | 280.6 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): body width | 214.9 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): body thickness | 6.1 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): chip | M4 | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): storage options | 128GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1TB | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): memory | 12GB (unified memory) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): port | USB-C port. USB 3 (up to 10Gb/s) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): battery capacity | 36.59 Wh | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): battery life (Apple test figure, web browsing and video over Wi-Fi) | up to 10 hours | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): refresh rate (not stated by Apple) | No ProMotion or refresh-rate figure stated by Apple | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): display type, lamination and color gamut | Liquid Retina (IPS). Fully laminated. Wide color (P3) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): supported Apple Pencil | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C) | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 13-inch iPad Air (M4): Apple Pencil hover | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): screen diagonal (measured as a rectangle) | 10.86 inch | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): resolution (long side) | 2360 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): resolution (short side) | 1640 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): pixel density | 264 ppi | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): weight (Wi-Fi model) | 464 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): weight (Wi-Fi + Cellular model) | 465 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): body height | 247.6 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): body width | 178.5 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): body thickness | 6.1 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): chip | M4 | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): storage options | 128GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1TB | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): memory | 12GB (unified memory) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): port | USB-C port. USB 3 (up to 10Gb/s) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): battery capacity | 28.93 Wh | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): battery life (Apple test figure, web browsing and video over Wi-Fi) | up to 10 hours | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): refresh rate (not stated by Apple) | No ProMotion or refresh-rate figure stated by Apple | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): display type, lamination and color gamut | Liquid Retina (IPS). Fully laminated. Wide color (P3) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): supported Apple Pencil | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C) | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| 11-inch iPad Air (M4): Apple Pencil hover | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): screen diagonal (measured as a rectangle) | 10.86 inch | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): resolution (long side) | 2360 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): resolution (short side) | 1640 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): pixel density | 264 ppi | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): weight (Wi-Fi model) | 477 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): weight (Wi-Fi + Cellular model) | 481 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): body height | 248.6 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): body width | 179.5 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): body thickness | 7 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): chip | A16 | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): storage options | 128GB, 256GB, 512GB | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): memory (not stated by Apple) | not stated by Apple | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): port | USB-C port. USB 2.0 (up to 480Mb/s) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): battery capacity | 28.93 Wh | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): battery life (Apple test figure, web browsing and video over Wi-Fi) | up to 10 hours | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): refresh rate (not stated by Apple) | No ProMotion or refresh-rate figure stated by Apple | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): display type, lamination and color gamut | Liquid Retina (IPS). No full lamination stated. sRGB color (no P3 stated) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): supported Apple Pencil | Apple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation) (needs the USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter) | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16): Apple Pencil hover | Not listed as supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): screen diagonal (measured as a rectangle) | 8.3 inch | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): resolution (long side) | 2266 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): resolution (short side) | 1488 px | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): pixel density | 326 ppi | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): weight (Wi-Fi model) | 293 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): weight (Wi-Fi + Cellular model) | 297 g | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): body height | 195.4 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): body width | 134.8 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): body thickness | 6.3 mm | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): chip | A17 Pro | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): storage options | 128GB, 256GB, 512GB | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): memory (not stated by Apple) | not stated by Apple | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): port | USB-C port. USB 3 (up to 10Gb/s) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): battery capacity | 19.3 Wh | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): battery life (Apple test figure, web browsing and video over Wi-Fi) | up to 10 hours | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): refresh rate (not stated by Apple) | No ProMotion or refresh-rate figure stated by Apple | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): display type, lamination and color gamut | Liquid Retina (IPS). Fully laminated. Wide color (P3) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): supported Apple Pencil | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C) | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro): Apple Pencil hover | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Apple Pencil Pro: pressure sensing | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Apple Pencil (USB-C): pressure sensing | Not supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Apple Pencil Pro: tilt sensing | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Apple Pencil (USB-C): tilt sensing | Supported | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Features only Apple Pencil Pro has | Squeeze, barrel roll, haptic feedback, double tap and Find My (not on Apple Pencil (USB-C)) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad models with Apple Pencil hover | Supported on iPad Pro (M4, M5), iPad Air (M2, M3, M4) and iPad mini (A17 Pro), among others; iPad (A16) is not listed | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPadOS needed for Apple Pencil (USB-C) | iPadOS 17.1.1 or later | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad (A16) and Apple Pencil (1st generation) | iPad (A16) also works with Apple Pencil (1st generation) when paired and charged through the USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Apple Pencil (2nd generation) support | None of the six current iPads supports Apple Pencil (2nd generation) | support.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad models Apple currently sells | 13-inch iPad Pro (M5), 11-inch iPad Pro (M5), 13-inch iPad Air (M4), 11-inch iPad Air (M4), iPad (A16), iPad mini (A17 Pro) | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Latest iPadOS version on Apple’s iPadOS page | iPadOS 27 | apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Procreate for iPad: current version | 5.4.14 | help.procreate.com Procreate FAQ: The current version of Procreate for iPad is 5.4.14 | 2026-10-08 |
| iPadOS required by Procreate 5.4.14 (or later) | 16.3 | help.procreate.com Procreate FAQ: Procreate 5.4.14 requires an iPad running iPadOS 16.3 or newer | 2026-10-08 |
| Procreate: current iPads that qualify | Procreate lists no model names, only iPadOS 16.3 or later. All six current iPads run iPadOS 27, so all meet it | help.procreate.com | 2026-10-08 |
| Procreate: maximum canvas by device | 134 megapixels (11,585px x 11,585px) on iPad Pro (M4, M5) and iPad Air (M2, M3); 67 megapixels (8,192px x 8,192px) on iPad mini (6th and 7th generation). iPad (A16) and iPad Air (M4) are not listed | help.procreate.com | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT for iPad: App Store version | 5.1.4 | apps.apple.com | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT for iPad: OS in the official requirements | iPadOS 18 / iPadOS 26 (iPadOS 27 is not mentioned) | clipstudio.net | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT for iPad: memory requirement | 3GB or more required, 4GB or more recommended; 6GB or more recommended for high-resolution illustration and manga | clipstudio.net | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT for iPad: recommended display size (or larger) | 10.5 inch | clipstudio.net | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT for iPad: free storage required (or more) | 6 GB | clipstudio.net | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT for iPad: pressure-sensitive pens in the official requirements | Apple Pencil (1st generation), Apple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil Pro (Apple Pencil (USB-C) is not listed) | clipstudio.net | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT supported devices: high-resolution list | High-resolution illustration and manga list: 13- and 11-inch iPad Pro (M5), (M4), 13- and 11-inch iPad Air (M3, M2) and others. iPad Air (M4) is not on the page | support.clip-studio.com | 2026-10-08 |
| CLIP STUDIO PAINT supported devices: standard-size list | Standard-size illustration and web manga list: iPad (A16), iPad mini (A17 Pro) and others | support.clip-studio.com | 2026-10-08 |
| iPad Air (M4) and CLIP STUDIO PAINT | iPad Air (M4) is not on CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s supported-device page (FAQ updated 2025-12-02) | support.clip-studio.com | 2026-10-08 |
| A3 paper short side | 297 mm | cl.cam.ac.uk | 2026-10-08 |
| A3 paper long side | 420 mm | cl.cam.ac.uk | 2026-10-08 |
| A4 paper short side | 210 mm | cl.cam.ac.uk | 2026-10-08 |
| A4 paper long side | 297 mm | cl.cam.ac.uk | 2026-10-08 |
| A5 paper short side | 148 mm | cl.cam.ac.uk | 2026-10-08 |
| A5 paper long side | 210 mm | cl.cam.ac.uk | 2026-10-08 |
| A6 paper short side | 105 mm | cl.cam.ac.uk | 2026-10-08 |
| A6 paper long side | 148 mm | cl.cam.ac.uk | 2026-10-08 |
Which iPad fits the paper size you draw at: quick reference
The calculator in this article shows the result and a matching product for your own settings. Settings can be set in the URL; each link below opens the calculator with those settings.
| Settings | Result | Calculator |
|---|---|---|
| A6, Pressure needed, Hover optional, No app chosen | ✓ Actual size from the iPad mini (A17 Pro). A6: 105 × 148 mm. The iPad mini (A17 Pro) holds a whole A6 page at actual size. At least 10.7 mm to spare. Other models that fit at actual size: 11-inch iPad Air (M4), 11-inch iPad Pro (M5), 13-inch iPad Air (M4), 13-inch iPad Pro (M5). Apple lists pressure sensing only for Apple Pencil Pro, which doesn’t work with the iPad (A16) | Open with these settings |
| A6, No pressure needed, Hover optional, No app chosen | ✓ Actual size from the iPad mini (A17 Pro). A6: 105 × 148 mm. The iPad mini (A17 Pro) holds a whole A6 page at actual size. At least 10.7 mm to spare. Other models that fit at actual size: iPad (A16), 11-inch iPad Air (M4), 11-inch iPad Pro (M5), 13-inch iPad Air (M4), 13-inch iPad Pro (M5). Apple Pencil (USB-C) has no pressure sensing (Apple’s feature comparison) | Open with these settings |
| A5, Pressure needed, Hover optional, No app chosen | △ Actual size on the 11-inch iPad Air (M4) (borderline). A5: 148 × 210 mm. The 11-inch iPad Air (M4) holds a whole A5 page at actual size. Only 9.4 mm to spare (6% of the paper side), so it’s borderline. Other models that fit at actual size: 11-inch iPad Pro (M5), 13-inch iPad Air (M4), 13-inch iPad Pro (M5). Apple lists pressure sensing only for Apple Pencil Pro, which doesn’t work with the iPad (A16) | Open with these settings |
| A5, No pressure needed, Hover optional, No app chosen | △ Actual size on the iPad (A16) (borderline). A5: 148 × 210 mm. The iPad (A16) holds a whole A5 page at actual size. Only 9.4 mm to spare (6% of the paper side), so it’s borderline. Other models that fit at actual size: 11-inch iPad Air (M4), 11-inch iPad Pro (M5), 13-inch iPad Air (M4), 13-inch iPad Pro (M5). Apple Pencil (USB-C) has no pressure sensing (Apple’s feature comparison) | Open with these settings |
| A4, Pressure needed, Hover optional, No app chosen | △ Air 13, Pro 13: scale to 88% (not actual size). A4: 210 × 297 mm. No current iPad holds a whole A4 page at actual size. On the 13-inch iPad Air (M4), 13-inch iPad Pro (M5), it fits whole when scaled to 88%, with only 0.8 mm to spare, so it’s borderline. Apple lists pressure sensing only for Apple Pencil Pro, which doesn’t work with the iPad (A16) | Open with these settings |
| A4, No pressure needed, Hover optional, No app chosen | △ Air 13, Pro 13: scale to 88% (not actual size). A4: 210 × 297 mm. No current iPad holds a whole A4 page at actual size. On the 13-inch iPad Air (M4), 13-inch iPad Pro (M5), it fits whole when scaled to 88%, with only 0.8 mm to spare, so it’s borderline. Apple Pencil (USB-C) has no pressure sensing (Apple’s feature comparison) | Open with these settings |
| A3, Pressure needed, Hover optional, No app chosen | △ Air 13, Pro 13: scale to 62% (not actual size). A3: 297 × 420 mm. No current iPad holds a whole A3 page at actual size. On the 13-inch iPad Air (M4), 13-inch iPad Pro (M5), it fits whole when scaled to 62%, with only 1.7 mm to spare, so it’s borderline. Apple lists pressure sensing only for Apple Pencil Pro, which doesn’t work with the iPad (A16) | Open with these settings |
| A3, No pressure needed, Hover optional, No app chosen | △ Air 13, Pro 13: scale to 62% (not actual size). A3: 297 × 420 mm. No current iPad holds a whole A3 page at actual size. On the 13-inch iPad Air (M4), 13-inch iPad Pro (M5), it fits whole when scaled to 62%, with only 1.7 mm to spare, so it’s borderline. Apple Pencil (USB-C) has no pressure sensing (Apple’s feature comparison) | Open with these settings |
| A5, Pressure needed, Hover needed, CLIP STUDIO PAINT | △ Actual size on the 11-inch iPad Air (M4) (borderline). A5: 148 × 210 mm. The 11-inch iPad Air (M4) holds a whole A5 page at actual size. Only 9.4 mm to spare (6% of the paper side), so it’s borderline. Other models that fit at actual size: 11-inch iPad Pro (M5), 13-inch iPad Air (M4), 13-inch iPad Pro (M5). Apple lists pressure sensing only for Apple Pencil Pro, which doesn’t work with the iPad (A16). The iPad (A16) isn’t on Apple’s list of models with hover. The 11-inch iPad Air (M4) isn’t on CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s supported-device page. The page doesn’t say it won’t run; it just isn’t listed. The 11-inch iPad Air (M4) has 12 GB of memory (per Apple), meeting CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s high-resolution recommendation of 6 GB or more. CLIP STUDIO PAINT lists iPadOS 18 and iPadOS 26; iPadOS 27 isn’t mentioned | Open with these settings |
| A5, No pressure needed, Hover optional, CLIP STUDIO PAINT | △ Actual size on the iPad (A16) (borderline). A5: 148 × 210 mm. The iPad (A16) holds a whole A5 page at actual size. Only 9.4 mm to spare (6% of the paper side), so it’s borderline. Other models that fit at actual size: 11-inch iPad Air (M4), 11-inch iPad Pro (M5), 13-inch iPad Air (M4), 13-inch iPad Pro (M5). Apple Pencil (USB-C) has no pressure sensing (Apple’s feature comparison). Apple doesn’t list memory for the iPad (A16), so CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s recommendation can’t be confirmed. CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s list of pressure-sensitive pens doesn’t include Apple Pencil (USB-C). CLIP STUDIO PAINT lists iPadOS 18 and iPadOS 26; iPadOS 27 isn’t mentioned | Open with these settings |
| A6, Pressure needed, Hover optional, CLIP STUDIO PAINT | ✓ Actual size from the iPad mini (A17 Pro). A6: 105 × 148 mm. The iPad mini (A17 Pro) holds a whole A6 page at actual size. At least 10.7 mm to spare. Other models that fit at actual size: 11-inch iPad Air (M4), 11-inch iPad Pro (M5), 13-inch iPad Air (M4), 13-inch iPad Pro (M5). Apple lists pressure sensing only for Apple Pencil Pro, which doesn’t work with the iPad (A16). Apple doesn’t list memory for the iPad mini (A17 Pro), so CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s recommendation can’t be confirmed. The iPad mini (A17 Pro)‘s screen is smaller than CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s recommended 10.5 inches. CLIP STUDIO PAINT lists iPadOS 18 and iPadOS 26; iPadOS 27 isn’t mentioned | Open with these settings |
| A4, Pressure needed, Hover optional, CLIP STUDIO PAINT | △ Air 13, Pro 13: scale to 88% (not actual size). A4: 210 × 297 mm. No current iPad holds a whole A4 page at actual size. On the 13-inch iPad Air (M4), 13-inch iPad Pro (M5), it fits whole when scaled to 88%, with only 0.8 mm to spare, so it’s borderline. Apple lists pressure sensing only for Apple Pencil Pro, which doesn’t work with the iPad (A16). The 13-inch iPad Air (M4) isn’t on CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s supported-device page. The page doesn’t say it won’t run; it just isn’t listed. The 13-inch iPad Air (M4) has 12 GB of memory (per Apple), meeting CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s high-resolution recommendation of 6 GB or more. The 13-inch iPad Pro (M5) has 12 GB or 16 GB of memory (per Apple), meeting CLIP STUDIO PAINT’s high-resolution recommendation of 6 GB or more. CLIP STUDIO PAINT lists iPadOS 18 and iPadOS 26; iPadOS 27 isn’t mentioned | Open with these settings |
| A5, No pressure needed, Hover needed, Procreate | △ Actual size on the 11-inch iPad Air (M4) (borderline). A5: 148 × 210 mm. The 11-inch iPad Air (M4) holds a whole A5 page at actual size. Only 9.4 mm to spare (6% of the paper side), so it’s borderline. Other models that fit at actual size: 11-inch iPad Pro (M5), 13-inch iPad Air (M4), 13-inch iPad Pro (M5). Apple Pencil (USB-C) has no pressure sensing (Apple’s feature comparison). The iPad (A16) isn’t on Apple’s list of models with hover. Procreate 5.4.14 needs iPadOS 16.3 or later. Every current iPad runs iPadOS 27 | Open with these settings |


